Read-Aloud: to use a CD, or not to use a CD

22 Nov

I’ve been waffling back and forth between doing the reading myself in read-alouds, and using audiobooks.  There are advantages and disadvantages to each method.

Reading Yourself

  • You can read at your own pace, slowing down in parts you want to emphasize or have students notice.
  • You can repeat important lines or passages easily.
  • You don’t have technology problems with finding the right chapter or place in the book.
  • You can roam the room with you book as you read-aloud, vs. staying close to the technology.

Audiobooks

  • With an audiobook playing, you can monitor the class more closely since you’re not actively reading.  Are students engaged?  Do they seem to understand the story?
  • Audiobooks do a great job of incorporating appropriate accents and voices.  If you’re not dramatically inclined, they add some theater.

Currently, I’ve opted to read it myself.  I find that I pay better attention when I’m reading, vs. having a CD play.  I notice more in my read-aloud books every time I read one, and reading it out-loud gives me more flexibility to change what I’m teaching on-the-go.  Plus, I found I was chained to the iPod when I tried to use an audiobook. I had to be right next to the speaker, ready to stop in the correct spot.

In the end, there’s probably not one right answer.  If I were reading a book where different character voices were very important to the story, I might go back to an audiobook. By the Great Horn Spoon, for example, a great gold-rush text by Sid Fleishman, has characters from all over the globe.  I might use an audiobook for that one.  Changing it up can add some spice and variety to the read-aloud.

Leave a Reply

CARDBOARD BOX OFFICE

A world of film, a house of stuff.

Literacy Changes Everything!

Teaching and Parenting as a Dedicated Reader and Writer

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

sunday cummins

Experience Nonfiction

Shanahan on Literacy

Literacy in Education

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

The Quick and the Ed

Literacy in Education

Shanker Blog

THE VOICE OF THE ALBERT SHANKER INSTITUTE

Free Technology for Teachers

Literacy in Education

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

